Haydn : Stabat Mater, Libera Me etc.


Catalogue No: DDA 21212
EAN/UPC: 809730121227
Artists: , ,
Release Date: February 2009
Genres: ,
Discs: 2
Total Playing Time: 120:16

Haydn’s wonderful Stabat Mater is far less well known than those of Pergolesi and other composers; this recording made in Paris in 1978 was a pioneering version using reconstructed scores and revised by renowned musicologist and scholar H C Robbins Landon. Also included is the even rarer LIBERA ME, only discovered in the mid 20th century. The soloists are: ANNA MARIA BONDI (soprano), CLAUDIA EDER (mezzo), AXEL REICHARDT (tenor) and KÜRT KRATTINGER (bass) with the Choral Philippe Caillard.

As bonus tracks, we include classic 1964 recordings of the 44th Symphony (Trauersinfonie) and the rare Double Concerto for Violin and Harpsichord, which features violinist Jacques Francis Manzone and harpsichordist Françoise Petit.

Track Listing

    Josef Haydn:

  1. I. Stabat Mater − Stabat mater dolorosa (10:11)
  2. II. Stabat Mater − O quam tristis (6:48)
  3. III. Stabat Mater − Quis est homo (2:45)
  4. IV. Stabat Mater − Quis non posset (5:45)
  5. V. Stabat Mater − Pro peccatis (2:57)
  6. VI. Stabat Mater − Vidit suum (6:59)
  7. VII. Stabat Mater − Eia, Mater (3:24)
  8. VIII. Stabat Mater − Sancta mater (7:39)
  9. IX. Stabat Mater − Fac me vere (6:36)
  10. X. Stabat Mater − Virgo virginum (10:04)
  11. XI. Stabat Mater − Flammis orci (2:21)
  12. XII. Stabat Mater − Fac me cruce (2:28)
  13. XIII. Stabat Mater − Quando corpus – Paradisi Gloria (5:53)
  14. I. Symphony no.44 in E minor − I -Allegro con brio (4:44)
  15. II. Symphony no.44 in E minor − II -Menuetto (5:44)
  16. III. Symphony no.44 in E minor − III – Adagio (6:06)
  17. IV. Symphony no.44 in E minor − IV – Presto (3:43)
  18. I. Double Concerto for Violin and Harpsichord in F major − I – Allegro moderato (7:10)
  19. II. Double Concerto for Violin and Harpsichord in F major − II – Largo (8:20)
  20. III. Double Concerto for Violin and Harpsichord in F major − III – Allegro (3:32)
  21. Libera me, Domine (6:32)


Midwest Record

The underserved Haydn fan that really wants something new and different has a full on bonanza here.  Lesser known works that are far from being of lesser quality with performances and interpretations to match.

” —Chris Spector

Balances are excellent and solo vocal lines clear.. the performance of the Stabat Mater is careful and accurate. [Libera me] is exquisite. This performance captures the funereal essence of the Libera Me better than the only other one I know. The performance of the symphony is both correct and sensitive, the sound clean, almost sweet. The double Concerto is a delight; violinist Manzoni is imaginative, his instrument rich, and the harpsichord sparkles.

” —James H North

These readings hold up better than many recordings from the early days of the historic-performance movement. An emotionally penetrating reading of… Stabat Mater. The unique collection of all this somber Haydn… is another plus and serious Haydn buffs will find these distinctive performances.

” —James Manheim
American Record Guide

The Stabat Mater is a neglected masterpiece. I enjoyed the performances… the work [of the Chorale] is quite admirable – as is the orchestra. Orchestra and soloists do very well here, in recordings that wear their age well. The symphony in particular is very cleanly performed. The analog sound is nicely remastered.

” —Lindsay Koob

a most welcome disc. [Stabat Mater] is long but profoundly satisfying. The group do not use period performance practice, but the sound is crisp and lithe, Tempi are kept moving and the overall sound is slim and not overblown. The Chorale Phillippe Caillard make an equally strong contribution. [Libera Me] is a short but charming work and receives a decent performance here.

” —Robert Hugill