The Schubert Piano Masterworks, Vol. 3


Catalogue No: DDA 21204
EAN/UPC: 809730120429
Release Date: May 2003
Genres: ,
Discs: 2
Total Playing Time: 148:22

The third of three volumes containing some of the greatest piano music ever written, played by Schubert specialist Anthony Goldstone.

This issue is rather special and historically important as it contains the first recordings of Goldstone’s own completions of two unfinished works, the D. 900 Allegretto and the Reliquie Sonata, D.840

See details for Volume One and Volume Two as well as the low-priced bundle.

Track Listing

    Franz Schubert:

  1. Seventeen Landler, D. 366 (11:43)
  2. Impromptu in C minor, D. 899 no. 1 (9:47)
  3. Impromptu in E flat major, D. 899 no. 2 (4:07)
  4. Impromptu in G flat major, D. 899 no. 3 (5:17)
  5. Impromptu in A flat major, D. 899 no. 4 (7:39)
  6. I. Piano Sonata in A minor, D. 845 − 1. Moderato (8:34)
  7. II. Piano Sonata in A minor, D. 845 − 2. Andante poco mosso (11:54)
  8. III. Piano Sonata in A minor, D. 845 − 3. Scherzo and Trio (7:14)
  9. IV. Piano Sonata in A minor, D. 845 − 4. Rondo: Allegro vivace (4:47)
  10. Allegretto in C minor, D. 900 (6:1)
  11. Diabelli Variation, D. 718 (1:13)
  12. I. Piano Sonata in C major, D. 840 (“Reliquie”) − 1. Moderato (10:50)
  13. II. Piano Sonata in C major, D. 840 (“Reliquie”) − 2. Andante (9:31)
  14. III. Piano Sonata in C major, D. 840 (“Reliquie”) − 3. Menuetto: Allegretto (5:14)
  15. IV. Piano Sonata in C major, D. 840 (“Reliquie”) − 4. Allegro (7:10)
  16. I. Piano Sonata in D major, D. 850 − 1. Allegro vivace (8:17)
  17. II. Piano Sonata in D major, D. 850 − 2. Con moto (11:10)
  18. III. Piano Sonata in D major, D. 850 − 3. Scherzo: Allegro vivace (8:29)
  19. IV. Piano Sonata in D major, D. 850 − 4. Rondo: Allegro moderato (7:49)


American Record Guide

…outstanding readings that easily compete with the best available. There is both joy and elation to the interpretations–and an intensity and natural flow that is not always easy to achieve… a recital that cannot be praised too highly. Schubert lovers will know how to proceed

” —ARC
MusicWeb International

… outstanding sound, and performances never less than excellent, round out Anthony Goldstone’s series of Schubert’s piano masterworks… Goldstone holds his own with the exceptional recordings by Kempff, Uchida and Cooper. An additional plus is that each of the 2CD sets can be had for just the price of one premium disc. I heartily recommend that Schubert piano enthusiasts find a spot in their music libraries for Mr. Goldstone.

” —Don Satz
Federation Of Recorded Music Societies Bulletin

Goldstone is a Schubert pianist of exceptional ability…his notes on the music illuminate it and are of the highest standard…magnificent performance [D899 Impromptus]…no one has presented better advocacy as in the beautifully plateed and presented set of which this is the third and final part. Recommended without reservation

” —Arthur Baker
Glasgow Herald

I must confess an increasing admiration for the playing of pianist Anthony Goldstone. The final volume in the series of Schubert’s piano music continues to reveal new depths to his playing. There is a refreshing, almost down-to-earth quality in Goldstone’s musicianship which leaves it free of pretension, artificial poeticism, or over-dramatisation. The resulting naturalistic quality of pianism benefits the music, it seems to me, and is reflected throughout this double CD, which includes the famous Impromptus and Bagtelles [sic], a delicious set of Ländler, and three big sonatas – including the Reliquie in a completion by Goldstone himself (though there is no experience quite like that where Schubert’s music is allowed to stop in mid-breath, where the composer laid down his pen). No matter; at mid-price, a seriously good bargain.

” —Michael Tumelty

Anthony Goldstone has done some marvellous work in piano transcriptions of symphonies… I find his playing to be consistently pleasing to these ears.. as an introduction to the piano works of Schubert , this set and its earlier companion volumes afford a nice place to start

” —Frank Behrens

Anthony Goldstone is quite the superb artist, and it is obvious from these recordings that Schubert is very near and dear to him… it becomes clear that Goldstone has lived with this music and brings to it a depth of understanding.

” —Jerry Dubins
MusicWeb International

The playing, the booklet notes (Goldstone, commendably, writes his own) and the whole production speak of a dedication which is entirely praiseworthy… The set of seventeen Ländler that open this collection is immediately attractive. The clean fingerwork and careful pedalling are in fact typical of Goldstone’s playing throughout this set. The recording is a model of clarity, retaining at the same time the fullness of the piano tone… Goldstone’s innate musicality is ever-present here (in the Impromptus)… The sense of dramatic tension Goldstone brings to the A minor Sonata, D845, is more than welcome

” —Colin Clarke
Moderated Classical Music List

Goldstone is never less than interesting, and he is thoroughly distinctive when he turns on the power and impetuosity… When he does, such as in the Four Impromptus, he’s among the best Schubert pianists on record… Recorded sound is superb with a very wide soundstage ready to pick up every nuance and detail. It’s dynamic range is outstanding, and Goldstone’s dynamic range is also wide. Summary: A hearty recommendation for this volume and the previous ones as well. Goldstone is a major-league pianist who compares well to the Schubert of Kempff and Uchida.

” —Donald Satz
The Schubertian (July 2003)

[the Reliquie] sonata receives a worthy performance without excesses and with great clarity of articulation; Goldstone’s composition of the four bars missing from the original edition in the second (variation) movement -Schubert’s manuscript having been lost – sound natural in their place. Two additional pleasures come in the shape of an Allegretto in C (also completed by Anthony Goldstone) and Schubert’s single Diabelli Variation – and Goldstone should now be congratulated on the completion of his three-volume account of Schubert’s piano masterworks.

” —Arnold Howarth
International Record Review

At his best, Goldstone is an excellent Schubert pianist, as is witnessed particularly in some of the shorter pieces… [Goldstone’s completions of the unfinished Sonata] have a sensitive feeling for what Schubert might have done…

” —John Warrack
International Piano

Goldstone’s feel for phraseology and motion are notable… Goldstone the composer is to be admired