The Way to Heaven


Catalogue No: DDA 25027
EAN/UPC: 809730502729
Artists: ,
Release Date: November 2004
Discs: 1
Total Playing Time: 60:05
Sample: If this be dying, it is sweet…

James Cook writes for voices, mainly a capella, in numbers ranging from four to forty-plus. This disc continues the survey of his music started with Heaven’s Happiness (DDA 25023), written very much in the Anglican choral tradition, and ideal for skilled church and amateur choirs. All first recordings.

Also available: Heaven’s Happiness DDA 25023 – and see the composer index for vocal, organ and harp music by James Cook.

Track Listing

    James Cook:

  1. When death cuts asunder (1:26)
  2. That which we call death (3:28)
  3. The lap of eternity (1:48)
  4. O lovely heaven (2:38)
  5. All loves excelling (4:33)
  6. He was most lovely (4:00)
  7. Christ’s matchless love (2:45)
  8. In the primrose of my days (4:00)
  9. I give to thee eternal life (3:46)
  10. Christ’s blood is heaven’s key (7:22)
  11. Run sweet babe (1:57)
  12. If this be dying (1:16)
  13. Death is my best friend (1:45)
  14. We shall meet in comfort (4:20)
  15. The way to heaven (6:31)
  16. Beyond the movable heavens (4:53)
  17. Heavenly death (3:31)



much to admire and enjoy in this collection of pieces and in the exemplary performances that they receive… Anyone with an interest in [the English choral] tradition can safely and confidently explore this rewarding CD

” —John Quinn

James Cook works within traditional tonal boundaries. Sincere and moving, unglamorous settings written within the accommodating embrace of the Cathedral tradition… sung with total professional commitment

” —Rob Barnett