Mozart, Beethoven, Bach-Busoni Piano Works


Catalogue No: DDA 25111
EAN/UPC: 809730511127
Composers: , , ,
Release Date: November 2013
Genres: ,
Discs: 1
Total Playing Time: 64:16

A British pianist specializing in the late baroque and classical periods, Jill Crossland has acquired an impressive reputation for her new insights into even the most familiar and hackneyed of ‘core repertoire’ works. Penguin Guide to CDs has said “a natural Mozartean … wonderfully lyrical Beethoven”. Here, Jill gives that special treatment to the ‘Moonlight’ with a beautiful and fresh reading; she presents three Bach-Busoni chorale preludes in full Romantic style and sparkles in delightful Mozart.

Track Listing

    Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart:

  1. Fantasia in D minor, K. 397 (5:30)
  2. Variations on ‘Ah vous dirais-je maman’, K, 265 (11:44)
  3. Ludwig van Beethoven:

  4. I. Piano Sonata No. 14 in C sharp minor, Op. 27 No. 2 − I. Adagio sostenuto (5:44)
  5. II. Piano Sonata No. 14 in C sharp minor, Op. 27 No. 2 − II. Allegretto (1:59)
  6. III. Piano Sonata No. 14 in C sharp minor, Op. 27 No. 2 − III. Presto agitato (7:24)
  7. I. Six Bagatelles, Op. 126 − No. 1 Andante con moto (3:15)
  8. II. Six Bagatelles, Op. 126 − No. 2 Allegro (2:40)
  9. III. Six Bagatelles, Op. 126 − No. 3 Andante (2:55)
  10. IV. Six Bagatelles, Op. 126 − No. 4 Presto (3:51)
  11. V. Six Bagatelles, Op. 126 − No. 5 Quasi allegretto (2:33)
  12. VI. Six Bagatelles, Op. 126 − No. 6 Presto – Andante amabile (4:28)
  13. Johann Sebastian Bach; arr. Ferruccio Busoni::

  14. Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme, BWV140 (3:39)
  15. Nun komm der Heiden Heiland, BWV62 (4:59)
  16. Ich ruf zu dir, Herr Jesu Christ, BWV177 (3:48)


Audiophile Audition

Crossland’s Moonlight Sonata enjoys a weighty lyricism without undue distortion of the musical line. [The Bach-Busoni Chorale Preludes] sing gloriously and fleetly over bass tones to emphasise their cantabile, stately and devotional directness of expression. Recording engineer Mike Hatch has provided a balanced resonance between the salon and the concert-hall.”,25111,Audiophile Audition,Gary Lemco
4701,International Record Review – Mark Tanner – 25111,international-record-review-25111-mark-tanner,With [the two Mozart] works she succeeds in giving the recording an immediate sense of purpose. [In the Beethoven] Crossland grapples boldly with the music’s continual tension and release which certainly brings a good deal of zeal and excitement to her interpretations.”

” —25111
International Record Review

It has been several years since I had the pleasure of reviewing Jill Crossland’s Signum recording of Bach’s ’48’, Book 1 (February 2008) and commented upon her ‘polished and compelling account’. This latest recording, made at St Paul’s Church, Deptford in 2010, makes use of a Fazioli and comprises music by Mozart, Beethoven and Bach-Busoni. […]

” —Mark Tanner

The disc is worth acquiring, for even though Crossland’s approach is not novel, it is rare among the big names: there is no languid sleepiness, and where the fire should burn it burns, but there are no Romantic excesses, no jagged lines and no rough surfaces. I will not stack this disc too far away from the player.

” —Oleg Ledeniov
Words And Music

Jill Crossland gives us a programme here as tastily arranged as a cordon bleu menu, well thought out, delicately prepared and fresh. It’s a most satisfying disc. I’d give it as a gift to one hungry for Michelin-star playing of classic recipes.

” —Rick Jones
Epoch Times

Her interpretations reflect deep thought and superb technique. She never imposes herself on the composer’s intention. Excellent, conveying real sensitivity. 4.5 stars out of five.

” —Gerry Miller

Crossland’s straightforward interpretations usually capture the essence of each piece, with textural clarity, careful rhythm, and sensitive melodic shaping…. much to enjoy in Crossland’s sincere interpretations and adept playing.

” —Paul Orgel