Madrigali: Fire and Roses


Catalogue No: DDA 25094
EAN/UPC: 809730509421
Artists: ,
Composers: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Release Date: May 2012
Periods: ,
Discs: 1
Total Playing Time: 65:24

An intensely beautiful programme, delectably performed. Paul Mealor’s choir gives a stunning performance of original 16th century madrigals and some modern counterparts, including the fabulous Madrigali of Morten Lauridsen. Of Mealor, we have the awesomely beautiful ‘Now Sleeps the Crimson Petal’ cycle, of which the first movement was personally chosen by Prince William and Kate Middleton (now the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge) as the musical centerpiece of the April royal wedding service (re-set to the words of ‘Ubi Caritas’).

This is the original version, conducted by the composer, and thus 100% authentic.

Paul Mealor’s work is also available as a download-only single, Now Sleeps the Crimson Petal (DDS 29002). It was also featured in the soundtrack of the award-winning documentary “Shining Night: A Portrait of Composer Morten Lauridsen” (DVD 003).

Track Listing

    Morten Lauridsen:

  1. I. Madrigali − Ov’e, lass, il bel viso (3:10)
  2. II. Madrigali − Quando son piu lontan (4:10)
  3. III. Madrigali − Amor, io sento l’alma (2:03)
  4. IV. Madrigali − Io piango (2:29)
  5. V. Madrigali − Luci serene e chiare (2:53)
  6. VI. Madrigali − Se per havervi, oime (3:40)
  7. Claudio Monteverdi:

  8. Si per havervi, oime (2:08)
  9. Carlo Gesualdo:

  10. Luce serene e chiare (3:24)
  11. Vincenzo Ruffo:

  12. Io piango (2:34)
  13. Girolamo Scotto:

  14. Amor, io sento l’alma (2:15)
  15. Yvo Barry:

  16. Quando son piu lontan (1:29)
  17. Henricus Schaffen:

  18. Ov’e, lass. Il bel viso (3:17)
  19. Paul Mealor:

  20. I. Now Sleeps the Crimson Petal − I. Now sleeps the crimson petal (2:43)
  21. II. Now Sleeps the Crimson Petal − II. Lady, when I behold the roses (2:35)
  22. III. Now Sleeps the Crimson Petal − III. Upon a bank with roses set about (1:36)
  23. IV. Now Sleeps the Crimson Petal − IV. A spotless rose (4:36)
  24. anonymous:

  25. There is no rose (4:16)
  26. John Ward:

  27. Upon a bank with roses set about (2:40)
  28. John Wilbye:

  29. Lady, when I behold the roses (2:31)
  30. Gustav Holst:

  31. Now Sleeps the Crimson Petal (1:39)
  32. James MacMillan:

  33. So deep (2:39)
  34. Morten Lauridsen:

  35. Chanson eloignée (5:25)


International Record Review

Madrigali is a rewarding work. Rewarding but not easy to perform. Lauridsen’s style is quickly recognizable: richly consonant chords occasionally spiced with mild dissonances. Mealor’s writing is fundamentally conservative [but his] use of micropolyphony … is not far from Ligeti. A very good performance by any standard.

” —Raymond S. Tuttle
Classical Music Sentinel

A luminous collection, the showpiece is Now Sleeps the Crimson Petal by Paul Mealor… an impressive choral work that superbly combines the clean and open harmonies of the Renaissance with the more distant harmonic intervals of today. The blend of voices is in perfect equilibrium. The sound recording… wraps you in a warm blanket of sound.

” —Jean-Yves Duperron

This disc presents a very imaginative approach… obviously there is no competition in this sort of recital and the singing by the choir is always perfectly tuned and beautifully recorded.

” —Paul Corfield Godfrey

This is a fascinating collection of madrigals from various eras. Con Anima’s careful execution of each piece seems to add character. The engineers at Divine Art have done well in making you feel as though you are in a small hall listening to this wonderful choir.

” —Maria Nockin
Nottingham Post

This is a must for anyone relishing the choral expression of passionate poetry across the ages.

” —Peter Palmer
The Scotsman

A golden blend of a cappella repertoire both ancient and modern. Juicy atmospherics. Rating ****

” —Kenneth Walton