Peter Katin Plays Chopin


Catalogue No: RPD 20002
EAN/UPC: 809730999222
Release Date: November 2003
Genres: ,
Discs: 1
Total Playing Time: 74:39

This CD has been produced as a limited edition product to celebrate the glittering career, now spanning over 60 years, of Peter Katin, one of the great names of British pianism.It It is an essential purchase for everyone who loves great piano music.

Also see Peter Katin’s retrospective CD “Fifty Years of Music Making” also in limited edition release (RP001)

Track Listing

    Fryderyk Chopin:

  1. Piano Sonata No. 3 in B minor, Op. 58 (recorded 1976)
  2. Waltz No. 6 in D flat major, Op. 64 No. 1 ‘Minute Waltz’ (recorded 1993)
  3. Waltz No. 7 in C sharp minor, Op. 64 No. 2 (recorded 1993)
  4. Waltz No. 8 in A flat major, Op. 64 No. 3 (recorded 1993)
  5. Nocturne No. 8 in D flat major, Op. 27 No. 2 (recorded 1993)
  6. Fantasia in F minor, Op. 49 (recorded 1994)
  7. Andante spianato & Grande Polonaise, Op. 22 (recorded 2006)
  8. Waltz No. 9 in A flat major, Op. 69 No. 1 ‘Farewell Waltz’ (recorded 2006)



A feast for Katin admirers… a rare example of Katin’s Bach

” —Jonathan Woolf
Audiophile Audition

Katin infuses his personal digital prowess and magic… A veteran’s seamless security Katin brings to the Chopin table and that combination wins the berries.

” —Gary Lemco