Catalogue No: DDV 24142
EAN/UPC: 809730414220
Composers: , ,
Release Date: May 2009
Genres: ,
Periods: ,
Discs: 1
Total Playing Time: 58:00

Beginning with Liszt’s ‘Nuages gris’ and ending with his own ‘Nuages noirs’ from Tetraktys, Panayiotis Demopoulos takes us through a panoply of images from the Classical, Romantic and Modern eras – often storm-filled but not relentlessly so, including possibly Beethoven’s greatest sonata. A fine performance from the Greek pianist now living and working in the UK. Part of our Dunelm series.

Track Listing

    Franz Liszt:

  1. Nuages Gris (3:45)
  2. La Lugubre Gondola I (4:07)
  3. Unstern (5:35)
  4. Vallée d’Obermann (15:24)
  5. Ludwig van Beethoven:

  6. I. Piano Sonata no. 30 in E major, op. 109 – Vivace ma non troppo – adagio espressivo (4:03)
  7. II. Piano Sonata no. 30 in E major, op. 109 – Prestissimo (2:33)
  8. III. Piano Sonata no. 30 in E major, op. 109 – Gesangvoll mit innigster Empfindung (14:15)
  9. Panayiotis Demopoulos:

  10. I. Teraktys – Variation I Moderato – veccio (2:25)
  11. II. Teraktys – Variation II Dissident – Schizothymic (1:25)
  12. III. Teraktys – Variation III Molto semplice – triste (1:45)
  13. IV. Teraktys – Variation IV Nervoso – Nuages noirs (2:43)


International Record Review

Considerable athleticism pervades ‘[the pianist’s] performances… I was taken by a number of features on the disc… a disarming assembly of repertoire, a naturally captured, almost ‘live’ appearance to the performances, and the short, intrepid works by Demopoulos himself. The pianist is capable of great atmosphere as well as projection, and combines well-paced expressiveness and a lively personality.

” —Mark Tanner
OzArts Review

Demopoulos’ account…often has a poetic, extemporaneous quality that lifts it into a high category of excellence. With notes clothed in golden tone, dramatic outbursts and lyrical contemplation are finely contrasted. Demopoulos plays as if to the manner born. A tour-de-force

” —Neville Cohn
MusicWeb International

As can be heard from this well recorded disc, [Demopoulos] has made considerable progress as pianist and composer. … I will watch Mr. Demopoulos’ future development, as a composer and performer, with interest.

” —Philip L. Scowcroft
Independent Review

Panayiotis shows he is equal to the challenge [of the Beethoven]. The recording as a whole is always interesting, well played and well worth hearing. The programme notes by the pianist are erudite and fascinating, and the recording as usual from this small company is satisfying.

” —David Rothery