New Sounds from Manchester


Catalogue No: MSV 28546
EAN/UPC: 809730854620
Composers: , , ,
Release Date: July 2015
Discs: 1
Total Playing Time: 60:55

Stunning and challenging works from string quartet all receiving their first recordings. Quatuor Danel is the quartet in residence at the University of Manchester (England); all of the composers have strong links with the University too. Established composers John Casken and Philip Grange are joined by two of the new generation, Camden Reeves and Richard Whalley, with works of exceptional distinctiveness and inspiration.

Track Listing

    Camden Reeves:

  1. Fireworks Physonect Siphonophore (String Quartet No. 1) (5:23)
  2. Richard Whalley:

  3. Interlocking Melodies (6:52)
  4. Camden Reeves:

  5. I. Dactylozooid Complex (String Quartet No. 2) – I (1:14)
  6. II. Dactylozooid Complex (String Quartet No. 2) – II (3:30)
  7. III. Dactylozooid Complex (String Quartet No. 2) – III (6:25)
  8. John Casken:

  9. Choses en moi (7:34)
  10. Philip Grange:

  11. I. Ghosts of Great Violence – I (11:38)
  12. II. Ghosts of Great Violence – II (3:41)
  13. III. Ghosts of Great Violence – III (4:15)
  14. IV. Ghosts of Great Violence – IV (10:19)


The Chronicle

We’ve been enjoying this new CD.. [The Reeves pieces] could be discordant but are sharply interesting rather than edgy.

” —Jeremy Condliffe
Sunday Times

The University of Manchester’s music department has become a fertile composing ground, its admirable quartet in residence clearly an inspiration

” —Paul Driver

Each of the composers presented here has a distinctive and attractive musical personality. String-quartet playing of the first order … impeccable precision and conviction. The disc receives a high recommendation accordingly

” —David DeBoor Canfield

An ensemble like Quatuor which is subscribed to ‘heavy fare’ does of course not have any difficulties with the challenging music, which listening to repeatedly is a very worthwhile exercise. The recording is immaculate, the booklet texts are authoritative contributed by the composers themselves. All in all highly recommended.

” —Jürgen Schaarwächter, translated by Wolfgang Ziegler
Gapplegate Classical Modern Music

The composers are all living exponents of uncompromising new music, all showing a fine sense of craftsmanship and dramatic flair. None of the works are mundane or routine. They all are of a uniformly advanced nature and mesh together for a consistently rewarding listen. Quatuor Danel handles it all with an excellent feel for contemporary modernism and fine musicianship. Their playing is exemplary on this disk and the Manchester composers represented are in every way worthy of the quartet’s talented way. Recommended.

” —Grego Edwards