Natalia Andreeva Plays Piano Sonatas


Catalogue No: DDA 25140
EAN/UPC: 809730514029
Release Date: January 2017
Genres: ,
Periods: , ,
Discs: 1
Total Playing Time: 63:01

After the highly praised recording of music by Ustvolskaya (DDA 25130), Natalia Andreeva returns to more familiar territory with this excellent selection of popular sonatas, stretching through the Romantic era in its different aspects. As a bonus, the impressionist ‘Estampes’ of Debussy is included. A lovely concert-format album.

Companion album: ‘Preludes and Fugues’ from Bach to Shostakovich (DDA 25139)

Natalia Andreeva is a Russian pianist who is currently Lecturer in Piano at the University of Sydney, Australia. Her 2015 recording of the music of Galina Ustvolskaya was very well received, and like that album, this new recording of better-known classical and Romantic works is the result of many years of study, developing her own mental picture of these masterpieces and of what the composers were trying to communicate.

Track Listing

    Ludwig van Beethoven:

  1. I. Piano Sonata in E minor, Op. 90 − I. Mit Lebhaftigkeit und durchaus mit Empfindung und Ausdruck (6:03)
  2. II. Piano Sonata in E minor, Op. 90 − II. Nicht zu geschwind und sehr singbar vorgetragen (7:05)
  3. Alexander Scriabin:

  4. Piano Sonata no. 10, Op. 70 (12:57)
  5. Sergei Prokofiev:

  6. I. Piano Sonata No. 2 in D minor, Op. 14 − I. Allegro ma non troppo – piu mosso – tempo primo (6:34)
  7. II. Piano Sonata No. 2 in D minor, Op. 14 − II. Scherzo: Allegro marcato (2:32)
  8. III. Piano Sonata No. 2 in D minor, Op. 14 − III. Andante (6:11)
  9. IV. Piano Sonata No. 2 in D minor, Op. 14 − IV. Vivace – moderato – vivace (5:37)
  10. Claude Debussy:

  11. I. Estampes − I. Pagodes (6:27)
  12. II. Estampes − II. La soirée dans Grenades (5:18)
  13. III. Estampes − II. Jardins sous la pluie (4:14)



As you’d expect, there’s plenty to admire. It’s the more luminous and intimate moments that are, on the whole, the most effective. The Scriabin opens with a finely col¬ored and evocative sense of mystery, for instance, [but] all in all, if you’re interested in getting acquainted with this talented artist—and you definitely should—I’d urge you to start with her Ustvolskaya.

” —Peter J. Rabinowitz
The Whole Note

Andreeva is a gifted performer, researcher and teacher. Her program choices are deliberate, balanced and artful. Her approach is methodical, yet inspired… [she] builds her phrases with care and balance. Andreeva is a deeply thoughtful artist and definitely worth hearing.

” —Alex Baran
American Record Guide

Students, for instance, will find the clarity of her playing welcome. Andreeva illuminates voices and complex themes through careful pedalling and an academic approach.

” —San Woo Kang
The Chronicle

“Both this and Preludes And Fugues [dda 25139] are superb as far as the playing goes. We prefer the gentler Preludes for its Goldberg Variations feel, while this CD is more formal. But they are both outstanding.”

” —Jeremy Condliffe

“Let me say that I thoroughly enjoyed every piece. [The CD] gets off to a great start with the last of Beethoven’s middle-period Piano Sonatas… The romance, imagination and intimacy is perfectly captured by Natalia Andreeva. The Sonata No.10 [of Scriabin] is stunningly played here by the soloist. The recording of all the music is ideal. It is always clear, vibrant, powerful and alive. I enjoyed all the music on this CD: the playing is always definitive. I look forward to hearing much more of the pianist Natalia Andreeva playing ‘discoveries’ and standard repertoire.”

” —John France