Long Journey Back – piano music of James Clapperton


Catalogue No: MSVCD 92033
EAN/UPC: 5019148632924
Release Date: April 2002
Genres: ,
Discs: 1
Total Playing Time: 69:03
Sample: "Edain" from Steven's Piano Book

James Clapperton is a highly regarded pianist and composer, born in Scotland. Highly influenced at first by Ferneyhough, Finnissy and Xenakis his music has developed in a softer, more approachable and individual style which is at once “modern” and “romantic” in that it paints musical pictures and depicts programmes of personal and historic subjects. Ideal for those wanting to delve into modern repertoire without the extremes of modernism.

Track Listing

    James Clapperton:

  1. Long Journey Back (6:17)
  2. The Ressoning betuir Aige an Yowth (10:15)
  3. I. Stephen’s Piano Book – They’re writing songs of love but not for me (3:02)
  4. II. Stephen’s Piano Book – Edain (1:08)
  5. III. Stephen’s Piano Book – Howard Skempton (1:40)
  6. IV. Stephen’s Piano Book – Renard (1:51)
  7. V. Stephen’s Piano Book – Sarah (2:54)
  8. Mikhashoffschina (12:36)
  9. Haar (5:58)
  10. I. Michael’s Piano Book – The cathedral at Freiburg (1:34)
  11. II. Michael’s Piano Book – Cafe Greco (1:29)
  12. III. Michael’s Piano Book – St. Patrick’s Day (5:02)
  13. The Testament of Cresseid (10:10)
  14. I. Two North East Songs – My Heart is broke since thy departure (2:37)
  15. II. Two North East Songs – Mrs Major Stewart of the island of Java (2:30)