Lads of Love and Sorrow


Catalogue No: DDV 24153
EAN/UPC: 809730415326
Artists: ,
Release Date: March 2011
Discs: 1
Total Playing Time: 66:30
Sample: 'Tis five years since - extract

Songs by John Ramsden Williamson
MARK ROWLINSON (baritone); DAVID JONES (piano)

Generally, John Williamson’s songs are more traditional in style than his piano music and belong to that great tradition of English pastoral and lyric song exemplified by Warlock, Moeran, Finzi, Ireland, Vaughan Williams, Delius and many more very fine composers. However his style is individual and distinctive in its own right. These are heartfelt and most appropriate settings of poems of love, war, loss and regret and excellent additions to the canon of English song. Originally released as Dunelm DRD0265.

Track Listing

    John Ramsden Williamson:

  1. She walks in beauty (3:21)
  2. She is not fair (1:58)
  3. When we two parted (4:00)
  4. The lads in their hundreds (2:37)
  5. Tis five years since (2:30)
  6. Oh is it the jar of nations (1:31)
  7. On your midnight pallet lying (2:21)
  8. Hughley Steeple (4:12)
  9. I lay me down and slumber (2:00)
  10. Sinner’s Rue (3:40)
  11. Parta Quies (1:22)
  12. He looked at me with eyes I thought (2:07)
  13. Others, I am not the first (3:01)
  14. Farewell to barn and stack and tree (2:25)
  15. When the lad for longing sighs (2:02)
  16. I hoed and trenched and weeded (2:26)
  17. Oh were he and I together (1:42)
  18. The new mistress (1:53)
  19. Oh see how thick the gold cup flowers (3:06)
  20. Easter hymn (3:18)
  21. Revolution (1:49)
  22. In valleys of springs of rivers (4:41)
  23. March (1:56)
  24. Before the battle (2:31)
  25. I stood with the dead (3:43)



[Williamson’s] unflinching dedication to composition has helped him develop his own individual style through palindromic techniques of rhythm, harmony and melody together with modal and pentatonic characteristics. Baritone Mark Rowlinson, sympathetically supporter by pianist David Jones, sings with meticulous and exquisite delicacy… superb artistic ability. First rate sound and notes complete a truly fine addition to the English song Canon. Recommmended.

” —Gerald Fenech
MusicWeb International

The music covers a wide range of emotions and makes a powerful impression,. Mark Rowlinson copes with both the technical demands and range of these songs. David Jones accompanies most sympathetically. Williamson’s love of Housman and eloquent music continue to impress and he is surely among the most important living British songwriters

” —Patrick C Waller

Diversions to have provided texts… there are helpful notes on the songs by the composer. I am glad to have heard this disc.

” —Henry Fogel
MusicWeb International

Mark Rowlinson sings well. The core of his voice is a warm, round baritone but he’s got a good top range too. David Jones supports him proficiently. The [Byron and Coleridge songs} I found the most attractive … I stood with the dead is a particularly imposing song; its music is impassioned. Williamson’s songs are worth hearing and it’s good that they’ve been given this exposure.

” —John Quinn
MusicWeb International

The twenty songs here find a first-rate advocate in the experienced Mark Rowlinson whose delivery is clear and his diction outstanding. Equally importantly he is positively supported by pianist David Jones, as much of the musical argument of these songs lies in the often chordal accompaniment, whose piano writing is so characteristic of this composer. Strongly recommended to lovers of English song and of Housman settings in particular.

” —Philip L. Scowcroft
Classical Pointers

This anthology … is filled with pleasing, tranquil settings in the respected tradition of English song. They are intelligently grouped by subject: love, war sorrow etc, leading the listener through a range of emotions. Overall, an interesting and worthwhile recording, well presented with full texts and notes.

” —Serena Fenwick
Nottingham Evening Post

In his music, Williamson consistently matches the emotional nuances of Housman’s measured verses. Baritone Mark Rowlinson and his pianist range effectively from the lyrical to the dramatic – ’Tis five years since is particularly arresting.

” —Peter Parker