Gounod: FAUST


Catalogue No: DDH 27810
EAN/UPC: 809730781025
Release Date: November 2008
Genres: ,
Discs: 2
Total Playing Time: 142:38

Our most ambitious vintage recording yet, this version of Faust (in Italian) was recorded by La Scala Milan, under the baton of Carlo Sabajno, in 1920 using the acoustic recording process. Magnificently restored and re-mastered by Andrew Rose of Pristine Audio, this is THE classic opera performance and not to be missed.

The CD booklet contains full libretto in Italian, and the English, French and Italian librettos are provided in a PDF file on the CD which can be printed from any PC.

The digital download booklet and the full triple libretto are included in the downloadable booklet Zip file.

Track Listing

    Charles Gounod: Faust (in Italian)
    Act I

  1. Preludio
  2. No! Interrogo invan (Rien! En vain!)
  3. Ah! vieni estremo (Salut! O mon dernier matin)
  4. Ma il ciel che può (Mais ce Dieu que peût-il)
  5. Sono qua (Me voici)
  6. Sta ben! (Fort bien!)
  7. Act II

  8. Su, da bere (Vin ou bière)
  9. O santa medaglia (O sainte medaille)
  10. Dio possente (Avant de quitter ces lieux)
  11. Andiam, partiam (Alons, amis)
  12. Dio dell’or (Le veau d’or)
  13. Estrana assai (Merci de la chanson)
  14. Ci rivedremo (Nous nous retrouverons)
  15. Come allor (Ainsi que la brise)
  16. Permette reste a me (Ne permettez-vous pas)
  17. Act III

  18. Intermezzo
  19. Le parlate d’amor (Faites-lui mes aveux)
  20. Giunti siam? (C’est ici?)
  21. Salve dimora (Salut! Demeure chaste et pure)
  22. All’erta! Eccola qua! (Alerte! La voilà
  23. Come vorrei saper (Je voudrais bien)
  24. O ciel! (O Dieu!)
  25. Giusto ciel! Che vegg’io? (Seigneur Dieu, que vois-je?)
  26. Si, un dono quest’e (Oui, c’est là le cadeau)
  27. V’appoggia te al braccio mio (Prenez mon bras)
  28. Etempo alfin (Il était temps)
  29. Tardi si fa, addio! (Il se fait tard, adieu!)
  30. Notte d’amor (O nuit d’amour)
  31. Divina purità (Divine purité)
  32. Vedete (Tenez!)
  33. Act IV

  34. Scene della chiesa – Introduzzione (Scène a l’église: Introduction)
  35. Signor, concesso sia (Seigneur, deignes permettre)
  36. Ciel! Che voce odo mai? (Dieu! Quelle est cette voix)
  37. Deponiam il brando (Dposons les armes)
  38. O Gloria! (Gloire immortelle)
  39. Siebel! nel mio tetto andiam (Allons Siebel)
  40. Perchè tardate ancora? (Qu’attendez-vous encore?)
  41. Tu che fai l’addormentata (Vous que faites l’endormie)
  42. Che fate qui, Signor (Que voulez-vous?)
  43. Per di qua venga ognum (par ici, mes amis)
  44. Act V

  45. Va via! (Va-t’en)
  46. Penetrato è il mio cor (Mon coeur est penetré)
  47. All’erta! All’erta! (Alerte, alerte)
  48. E salva! (Sauvée!)



The crop of quality singers and the much underrated Carlo Sabajno combine together to provide a truly world class performance on all counts… stunning remastering. This is an essential historical document which is a must for all fans of opera in all guises.

” —Gerald Fenech
Musical Opinion

Absolutely minimal surface noise… thus we can appreciate this set as a genuine performance. The quality of this world-class opera company shines through these old discs with an excellence and unfailing deep musicianship that justifies this reissue in artistic grounds

” —Robert Matthew-Walker
International Record Review

Autori as Mephistopheles: a vital, vivid, vibrant interpretation. He brings the character to life without excess: one of the best. Transfers are well done

” —John T. Hughes

Superb sound!…instrumental details are well caught, the chorus has great impact, the singers leap out of the speakers with surprising realism. Carlo Sabajno…secures fine playing and singing from the La Scala forces. The star of the performance is Fernando Autori as Mephistopheles. He has a magnificent black-tinted bass… one of the most impressive devils on any recording. Gilda Timitz is an excellent Siebel and his/her Flower Song is one of the highlights. A lot to admire on this almost 90-year old surprisingly listenable version.

” —Göran Forsling
Midwest Record

Is this too cool or what? Any self respecting opera fan will want to grab a copy of this.

” —Chris Spector
New Classics

Remarkably good overall sound quality that allows the excellent performances to shine through. This is the first time that this important historical recording has appeared on CD and it’s a memorable version of one of the most popular, tuneful and sophisticated operas ever composed.

” —John Pitt

Divine Art seems to have done its job well. Most of the singers have rapid little vibratos, but their voices are not unattractive. Autori has a dark voice and fairly smooth delivery … he isn’t crude and heavy

” —James Miller
Art Times

The sound is very good acoustic (pre-electric). Granted that, its being sung in Italian gives it a certain historic quality…. [a] version that can stand on its own vocally against some of the more recent French-language versions

” —Frank Behrens