Gothic: New Piano Music From Ireland


Catalogue No: MSV 28549
EAN/UPC: 809730854927
Composers: , , , , , ,
Release Date: February 2015
Genres: ,
Discs: 1
Total Playing Time: 61:37

An Irish pianist presents new works by seven Irish composers. The styles vary and some include several extended and experimental techniques, all are tremendously atmospheric and brilliantly played, and all are receiving their first recording here. Some of these composers are already gaining quite a following outside their home country and rightly so while pianist Mary Dullea shows again that she is totally in control no matter how complex the demands made by the music.

Track Listing

    Ed Bennett:

  1. Gothic (7:57)
  2. David Fennessy:

  3. The first thing, the last thing, and everything in between (4:42)
  4. Jonathan Nangle:

  5. Grow quiet gradually (5:05)
  6. Frank Lyons:

  7. Tease (12:42)
  8. John McLachlan:

  9. I. Nine – I. Arpa (0:43)
  10. II. Nine – II. Scala (1:01)
  11. III. Nine – III. Ananda (1:35)
  12. IV. Nine – IV. Kimata (1:25)
  13. V. Nine – V. Nebula (1:18)
  14. VI. Nine – VI. Aurea (3:13)
  15. VII. Nine – VII. Maya (2:22)
  16. VIII. Nine – VIII. Hikka (1:08)
  17. IX. Nine – IX. Fretta (1:17)
  18. Gráinne Mulvey:

  19. Etude (5:08)
  20. Benjamin Dwyer:

  21. I. Homenaje a Maurice Ohana – I. Primera Parte (6:23)
  22. II. Homenaje a Maurice Ohana – II. Segunda parte (5:11)



Mary Dullea plays with the confidence of one fully immersed in the music of our time. Compelling listening … fascinating… a real treat. Dullea’s technical prowess is beyond doubt, topped only by her innate understanding of every piece on this disc. Recommended.

” —Colin Clarke
Gapplegate Classical Modern Music

Ms. Dullea shows that she is an excellent exponent of new music performance in this sparkling anthology of seven works by some of Ireland’s finest. The music tends to be dramatic, gestural, filled with light and shadow, sound and silence. This is serious piano music and it is played with a touch of the magic that Mary Dullea has no shortage of….She is transcendent, powerful and tender all at once. Very highly recommended.

” —Grego Edwards
Music For All Seasons

Seven young talents, all under 40 … each and every one writing original music that explores the technical and musical possibilities of the piano. Ms. Dullea excels. All in all this is a very fine sampler of new music from Ireland, all of it excellently played by Mary Dullea. The sound is excellent and intimate.

” —Rafael de Acha
The Chronicle

This has been a real pleasure … it’s melodic and thoughtful. Despite (or because of) the extensive use of quiet, it’s a dramatic and atmospheric album.

” —Jeremy Condliffe
Journal Of Music (Joint Review With Msv 28544 ‘Eric Craven Piano Sonatas' )

Belonging to a generation that owes as much to inherited traditions as to the possibilities of the present, [the composers] are clearly beholden to neither in equal measure. The disc finds composers revelling in the intricate warp and weft of music in which defining threads are intentionally ravelled, deliberately obfuscated or omitted altogether. They suggest a developing shift away from the boundaries of a composer’s imagination to the limits of a performer’s technical abilities, offering up the alluring prospect that what ‘seems impossible… or really is so’ on an instrument as venerable and venerated as the piano might actually become possible.

” —Michael Quinn
American Record Guide

Dynamically, harmonically, rhythmically gripping.

” —Kraig Lamper
Journal Of Music

In [its] exploration of pianistic sound [the album] points to the abiding centrality of the piano to contemporary composition while also illustrating the instrument’s capacity for accommodating both full-frontal assaults and guerrilla-like incursions. Eric Craven’s three un-dated sonatas (Nos. 7–9) pointedly employ both stratagems. There’s something here of jazz music’s surrendering of the primacy of the composer to the immediacy of the performer, a conceit that rubs shoulders with improvisational licence while maintaining discernible control from a distance. Dullea fills in the blanks to telling effect, adding sinew and flesh to bare bone, finding flex and flux in the motivic crux of music that moves osmotically from loose-limbed jazzy inflections to taut, knotty modernity.

” —Michael Quinn