Delicias – Spanish Delights for Piano Duo


Catalogue No: DDA 25101
EAN/UPC: 809730510120
Composers: , , , , , , , ,
Release Date: September 2011
Genres: , ,
Periods: ,
Discs: 1
Total Playing Time: 75:13

Spain, with its location at the southern tip of western Europe, and its exotic history, has developed a unique music tradition, more aligned, through the influence of the Islamic Moorish period, with the middle east than with the more northern parts of Europe. This cultural uniqueness has attracted hosts of non-Spanish composers to write ‘Spanish’ pieces many of which have become staples of the repertoire. This programme includes some favourites – but in unfamiliar guise – and some wonderful and little known gems too. Full of zest, fire and ‘soul’. Several premiere recordings.

Track Listing

    Emmanuel Chabrier:

  1. España (6:37)
  2. Enrique Granados:

  3. Quejas o la maja y el ruisenor (5:50)
  4. Ernesto Lecuona:

  5. Malagueña (3:41)
  6. Joaquín Rodrigo:

  7. Adagio from Concierto de Aranjuez (10:09)
  8. Cecile Chaminade:

  9. La Sevillane, Op. 19 (4:48)
  10. Manuel de Falla:

  11. I. Nights in the Garden of Spain − I. En la generalife (9:38)
  12. II. Nights in the Garden of Spain − II. Danza lejana (4:47)
  13. III. Nights in the Garden of Spain − III. En los jardines de la Sierra de Cordoba (8:04)
  14. Camille Saint-Saëns:

  15. La jota aragonese, Op. 64 (3:57)
  16. Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov:

  17. I. Capriccio Espagnol, Op. 34 − I. Alborada (1:13)
  18. II. Capriccio Espagnol, Op. 34 − II. Variazioni (3:45)
  19. III. Capriccio Espagnol, Op. 34 − III. Alborada (1:09)
  20. IV. Capriccio Espagnol, Op. 34 − IV. Scena e canto gitano (4:54)
  21. V. Capriccio Espagnol, Op. 34 − V. Fandango asturiano (3:22)
  22. Francisco Tarrega:

  23. Gran Vals (3:11)


International Record Review

This is an aptly named CD… intended to instil a sense of delight in the listener. Divine Art’s engineers have contrived to present the pianists in an acoustic that is warm and resonant, albeit with no loss of detail. ‘Delicias’ is a more refined treat, more savoury than sweet. Goldstone and Clemmow don’t miss a trick and the playing … is precise without becoming pedantic. There is abundant colour in their pianism too. Outstanding pianism

” —Raymond S. Tuttle

They’re at their brilliant best… these performances are never less than richly experienced and musicianly and Divine Art’s sound is admirably clear, leaving you to wonder what this admirable duo still have up their sleeves and their fingers.

” —Bryce Morrison

Surely there is no more entertaining or exploratory a piano duo in the world today than Goldstone & Clemmow. [They] have undertaken a recording programme that is throwing up many more first performances, arrangements and novelties than ever before. I’ve enjoyed this disc immensely… when the playing and recording are as good as this, I don’t think you could possibly complain.

” —Jonathan Woolf
Audiophile Audition

The arrangements – some lovingly done by the composers themselves – and playing are both so spirited and accomplished that I’m entirely won over. A most enjoyable musical tour of Spain, very attractively and very stereophonically recorded as well.

” —Lee Passarella

Here is one brilliant idea: collect approximately 75 minutes of highly accessible music… and have one of today’s best piano duos record it. That pretty much sums up Delicias. The performances are superb … their playing has a unity of purpose. It is particularly impressive how the pianists treat all the scores with respect and manage to avoid ever sounding cheesy. The engineering is excellent, as are Goldstone’s informative notes. Enthusiastically recommended.

” —Radu A. Lelutiu
American Record Guide

I must label this delightful in every way…fabulously performed… the performance makes you forget that you are listening to two pianists. [A] most entertaining release.

” —Harrington
Music & Vision

Pieces of coruscating brilliance. Joyous recital

” —Robert Anderson

Two excellent individual pianists who work so well together that they truly do play as one. This is a CD that you actually want to listen to over and over again. You’ll want to sit down with your headphones on and experience how really wonderful this disc is.

” —Suzanne Torrey