David Jennings – Music for Piano


Catalogue No: DDA 25110
EAN/UPC: 809730511028
Release Date: November 2012
Genres: ,
Discs: 1
Total Playing Time: 78:10

This is the first album devoted to the wonderfully expressive piano music of David Jennings, all written between 1985 and 2010. This English composer, born in 1972, has a voice which is not afraid to challenge but always within a very traditional soundscape producing modern music ideally representing the growing English new romantic and lyrical tradition. Pianist James Willshire performs in his fine recording debut for Divine Art.

Track Listing

    David Jennings:

  1. I. Piano Sonata, Op. 1 − I. Ballade: Molto moderato (7:35)
  2. II. Piano Sonata, Op. 1 − II. Scherzo: Allegro vivacissimo (2:28)
  3. III. Piano Sonata, Op. 1 − III. Romance: Adagio con tenerezza (4:57)
  4. IV. Piano Sonata, Op. 1 − IV. Finale: Presto vivace (6:08)
  5. I. Sonatina, Op. 2 No. 1 − I. Prelude: Allegro non troppo (1:20)
  6. II. Sonatina, Op. 2 No. 1 − II. Elegy: Andante sostenuto (1:53)
  7. III. Sonatina, Op. 2 No. 1 − III. Finale: Andante con moto (1:23)
  8. I. Sonatina, Op. 2 No. 2 − I. Prelude: Allegro amabile (3:47)
  9. II. Sonatina, Op. 2 No. 2 − II. Nocturne: Adagio con tenerezza (3:40)
  10. III. Sonatina, Op. 2 No. 2 − III. Moto Perpetuo: Allegretto con moto (1:50)
  11. I. Sonatina, Op. 2 No. 3 − I. Prelude: Presto ritmico (2:03)
  12. II. Sonatina, Op. 2 No. 3 − II. Romance: Andante espressivo (2:14)
  13. III. Sonatina, Op. 2 No. 3 − III. Minuet: Grazioso (1:00)
  14. IV. Sonatina, Op. 2 No. 3 − IV. Finale: Presto agitato (1:52)
  15. I. Prelude and Fugue, Op. 6 − I. Prelude: Adagio con intensita (2:48)
  16. II. Prelude and Fugue, Op. 6 − II. Fugue: A tempo moderato (2:37)
  17. I. Three Lyrical Pieces, Op. 17 − No. 1 Evening Twilight: Andante tranquillo (2:56)
  18. II. Three Lyrical Pieces, Op. 17 − No. 2. Cavatina: Andante tranquillo (1:43)
  19. III. Three Lyrical Pieces, Op. 17 − No. 3. Waltz: Allegretto grazioso (2:15)
  20. I. Miniature Suite, Op. 18 − I. Prelude: Allegro con brio (0:51)
  21. II. Miniature Suite, Op. 18 − II. Air: Largo tranquillo (1:48)
  22. III. Miniature Suite, Op. 18 − III. Invention: Allegro moderato (0:41)
  23. IV. Miniature Suite, Op. 18 − IV. Romance: Adagio ma con moto (2:55)
  24. V. Miniature Suite, Op. 18 − V. Fugue: Allegro con brio (1:29)
  25. I. Harvest Moon Suite, op. 19 − I. Stags in Knole Park (2:25)
  26. II. Harvest Moon Suite, op. 19 − II. Aira Force (1:31)
  27. III. Harvest Moon Suite, op. 19 − III. The Haunted Abbey (1:14)
  28. IV. Harvest Moon Suite, op. 19 − IV. Harvest Moon (4:15)
  29. V. Harvest Moon Suite, op. 19 − V. Harlech Castle (1:12)
  30. VI. Harvest Moon Suite, op. 19 − VI. Innisfallen Lake (3:46)



This is true piano music. [The Piano Sonata] is the longest piece and the one which is most intriguingly original. A truly extraordinary Op. 1 which deserves regular hearings and public airings. {among the other works are] evocative and beautifully crafted piano miniatures … each is a finely polished gem. The Prelude and Fugue is searching and dramatic. James Willshire’s performances are faultless both musically and emotionally. I can only strongly advise that you buy this disc and enjoy for yourself a new and individual voice in British piano music.

” —Gary Higginson
Records International

Jennings’ music is refreshingly straightforward and communicative … any lover of tonal modern piano music will find much to enjoy in these 78 minutes.


David Jennings is a composer who is beholden to no-one in spite of a number of trajectories in his musical language. His is serious, well-structured music that I can do business with. More to the point, many of these pieces are not only impressive, but are interesting, satisfying and often moving. No listener or composer could wish for more. I loved [the] Sonata. It is surely one of the best examples to have come from the pen of a British composer for many years. This is a beautifully produced CD in every manner. The sound quality is outstanding, with each nuance of the music being clear. The programme is considerable in both scale and concept: the ‘complete piano works’ lasting over 78 minutes. The interpretation of these pieces by James Willshire is everything that could be wished. This is a CD of piano music that is inspiring and challenging. RECORDING OF THE YEAR 2013

” —John France
American Record Guide

The young pianist James Willshire plays all these pieces with warmth and an emphasis on the melodic line. David Jennings’s music is not flashy or ostentatious, but it is melodic, open hearted, and well made.

” —Jack Sullivan

The composer reveals himself to be admirably equipped in writing for the piano and James Willshire seems an ideal interpreter.

” —Jonathan Woolf
Albion Magazine

The music is tonal and attractive … generally in a lyrical and romantic vein. Sound quality, presentation and notes are all to be commended, resulting in a very good disc of enjoyable music and sound interpretation.

” —Em Marshall-Luck

[Jennings] writes serious, well-structured music and the interesting pieces on this disc are moving and emotionally satisfying. James Willshire is a fabulous pianist whose runs are as smooth as creamery butter. He has a wide dynamic range and a full palette of tonal and emotional color too. The sound on this disc is excellent and it contains music that most certainly deserves a wider hearing.

” —Maria Nockin