David Dubery: Observations


Catalogue No: MSV 28548
EAN/UPC: 809730854828
Artists: , , , ,
Release Date: July 2014
Genres: ,
Discs: 1
Total Playing Time: 71:13

The second album of music by David Dubery includes a very fine quartet based on Spanish inspiration and locations, which has been attracting much praise. Also two of Britain’s foremost singers present a range of songs on texts by Douglas Gibson, William Shakespeare and Walter de la Mare, many with an obbligato flute line too. Dubery’s firm attachment to the lyrical post-romantic style is ideal for these texts once again showing that new music can be superbly crafted, meaningful and enjoyable in relatively traditional form. This is music which will stay in fashion and be listened to 100 years from now.

Track Listing

    David Dubery:

  1. Swans in Flight (2:45)
  2. Lizard (2:09)
  3. A memory (1:54)
  4. Full Fathom Five (4:26)
  5. Winter Journey (2:25)
  6. Cloud Shadows (4:26)
  7. Time will not wait (2:47)
  8. I. Night Songs – No. 1 One night in December (3:11)
  9. II. Night Songs – No. 2 Evening in April (3:33)
  10. III. Night Songs – No. 3 June Evening (3:50)
  11. IV. Night Songs – No. 4 An August midnight (4:13)
  12. I. Observations – No. 1 The Barber’s (1:23)
  13. II. Observations – No. 2 The Old Sailor (2:20)
  14. III. Observations – No. 3 Esmerelda (1:47)
  15. IV. Observations – No. 4 The window (2:16)
  16. V. Observations – No. 5 Done for (1:53)
  17. VI. Observations – No. 6 The promenade 1880 (2:46)
  18. I. Cuarteto Iberico – I. El bailarin en la plaza (5:50)
  19. II. Cuarteto Iberico – II. En el Parque de Maria Luisa (5:46)
  20. III. Cuarteto Iberico – III. El mendigo en el Barri Gotic (4:33)
  21. IV. Cuarteto Iberico – IV. Carnaval (6:36)



I was struck by the beauty of [Dubery’s] music. He writes very well for the voice, which is not surprising as he spent time as an accom­panist for many singers. He is capable of more than mood-painting; he composes real melodies, some of which stay in the mind after one hearing. [In the Quartet] he has captured a Spanish flavor per­fectly without losing his own identity. The music is frequently gentle, sometimes wild, extremely varied in its mood while still holding together as a whole. And the melodic inspiration is very strong. All of the performances on the disc are intensely committed and well executed. This is a lovely discovery.

” —Henry Fogel
The Classical Reviewer

David Dubery’s very fine playing is something that must be mentioned, so full of passion. James Gilchrist [is] in fine voice … Adrienne Murray brings her full, beautiful toned voice [to her songs]. Throughout [the] fine quartet one is aware of Dubery’s fine ear for texture and sonorities. The Cavaleri Quartet give a first rate performance with fine ensemble, sensitivity and panache. This new disc came as a real find. Anyone with the slightest interest in English song should snap it up, coupled as it is with a really fine string quartet. The recordings are excellent and there are informative booklet notes from William Ferguson and the composer.

” —Bruce Reader

The musical language of [Quarteto Iberico] holds no terrors. In fact, it is ‘intentionally accessible, tonal and impressionistic.’ … [a] vibrant, well constructed, sun-drenched score. It is one of the most delightful ‘modern’ string quartets I have heard in a while. The performance by the singers James Gilchrist and Adrienne Murray are superb. The composer is a remarkably sympathetic pianist and the flautist Michael Cox brings a magic to the two song cycles that include an obbligato. David Dubery writes music that is in the trajectory of all that is best in English song – Ireland, Britten and Finzi. Yet there is an individual element that ensures that his music is never parody or pastiche.

” —John France
Amazon Customer Reviews

I approached this new release with great anticipation and I am not disappointed…texts are expertly framed and complimented by the music… They are beautifully sung in clear diction by both the charismatic tenor James Gilchrist with his vocal warmth and poetic phrasing, and mezzo-soprano Adrienne Murray whose honeyed tone and characterization also gave such delight on the previous CD. The Cuarteto Iberico is brought vividly to life by the Cavaleri Quartet, an excellent performance that complements the lyricism and vibrant colours of music inspired by the composer’s visits to Spain. These are fine musicians indeed. I loved this quartet from the first hearing and keep coming back to it. I wholeheartedly recommend this well presented and recorded collection.

” —“Charwood”