British Music for Clarinet and Piano


Catalogue No: MSVCD 92013
EAN/UPC: 809730201325
Artists: ,
Composers: , , , , , , , ,
Release Date: July 1998
Genres: , ,
Discs: 1
Total Playing Time: 68:44
Sample: Scena III by R.R. Bennett (opening)

The works on this CD span almost 30 years, from 1965 to 1994. The most striking factor is the varying yet equally successful approach adopted in writing for the clarinet by these very different composers, all of whom cater for the unique character of the instrument.

Track Listing

    Elizabeth Maconchy:

  1. Fantasia (9:09)
  2. Anthony Powers:

  3. Sea/Air (5:31)
  4. Piers Hellawell:

  5. High Citadels (9:30)
  6. Harrison Birtwistle:

  7. Verses (5:28)
  8. Richard Rodney Bennett:

  9. Scena III (8:08)
  10. Hugh Wood:

  11. Paraphrase on “Bird of Paradise” (10:38)
  12. Gordon Crosse:

  13. A Year and A Day (7:05)
  14. Martin Butler:

  15. Capistrano Song (8:23)
  16. Michael Berkeley:

  17. Flighting (2:41)


BBC Music Magazine

The performances are superlative in every way and should place this duo firmly in the front rank of contemporary music interpreters. In much of the music of this period, the formidable technical and intellectual demands placed on players can often produce sterile and cerebral results, yet here the clear understanding of form and structure is combined with genuine passion for the medium. Kate Romano’s playing throughout is exemplary, displaying both stunning technical prowess and a real flair for the dramatic potential of these works. Performance ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Sound ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

” —Tim Payne

Not just a collection of clarinet works, but a well-devised retrospective of British music over three decades. Romano is an accomplished and sympathetic advocate, not least in her informative booklet notes.

” —Richard Whitehouse