Brahms, Demopoulos & Mussorgsky – piano concert


Available 12 January, 2018
Catalogue No: DDV 24166
EAN/UPC: 809730416620
Composers: , ,
Release Date: January 2018
Discs: 1
Total Playing Time: 53:06

This recording was originally made by Dunelm Records on limited release in 2005 and is now re-released at mid-price alongside other recordings by Greek pianist-composer Panos Demopoulos.

His rip-roaring reading of ‘Pictures at an Exhibition’ is a super conclusion to a concert-style program designed to emulate a live performance, with minimal editing and plenty of passion. Panos takes a measured approach to the Intermezzi, the late and piquant works of Brahms’ maturity; performs his own reflective and gentle (yet resolutely modern) Farewells and fires up all cylinders for Mussorgsky’s masterpiece.

Panayiotis Demopoulos was born in Athens in 1977, studied with Margaret Murray-McLeod in Edinburgh before moving to Manchester and studying piano with Murray McLachlan and composition with Anthony Gilbert. He is an active performer both as a soloist and as a member of chamber ensembles.

Track Listing

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897):Three Intermezzi, Op. 117

    1. No. 1 in E flat major
    2. No. 2 in B flat minor
    3. No. 3 in C sharp minor

Panayiotis Demopoulos (b. 1977): Farewells

    1. Summer Farewell
    2. Spring Farewell
    3. Winter Farewell
    4. Autumn Farewell

Modest Mussorgsky (1839-1881): Pictures at an Exhibition

  1. Promenade 1
  2. Gnomus
  3. Promenade 2
  4. Il vecchio castile
  5. Promenade 3
  6. Tuileries
  7. Bydło
  8. Promenade 4
  9. Ballet of the chicks in their shells
  10. Two Polish Jews, one rich, the other poor
  11. Promenade 5
  12. Limoges, the market place
  13. Catacombae
  14. Con Mortuis in Lingua Mortua
  15. The Hut on Fowl’s Legs (Baba-yaga)
  16. The Great Gate of Kiev