Alicja Fiderkiewicz Celebrity Recital: Chopin & Szymanowski


Catalogue No: DDV 24160
EAN/UPC: 809730412929
Composers: ,
Release Date: November 2014
Genres: ,
Periods: ,
Discs: 1
Total Playing Time: 64:18

For several years, Polish pianist Alicja Fiderkiewicz has given the Celebrity Recital at the International Summer School and Festival for Pianists in Manchester, England. Three of the concerts were recorded and given limited circulation by Dunelm Records and have now been made more widely available for Alicja’s rapidly growing fan base and by public demand.

This recording of works by Schumann is from the Celebrity Recital given in 2005 and remastered 2014.

Track Listing

    Karol Szymanowski:

  1. I. Preludes, Op. 1 – No. 1: Andante ma non troppo (2:26)
  2. II. Preludes, Op. 1 – No. 2: Andante con moto (2:53)
  3. III. Preludes, Op. 1 – No. 5: Allegro molto (1:19)
  4. IV. Preludes, Op. 1 – No. 7: Moderato (2:49)
  5. I. Masques, Op. 34 – No. 1 Sheherazade (9:46)
  6. II. Masques, Op. 34 – No. 2 Tantris the Clown (6:03)
  7. III. Masques, Op. 34 – No. 3 Don Juan’s Serenade (5:57)
  8. Fryderyk Chopin:

  9. Nocturne No. 15 in F minor, Op. 55 No. 1 (5:07)
  10. Nocturne No. 16 in E flat major, Op, 55 No. 2 (5:39)
  11. Polonaise No. 4 in C sharp minor, Op. 40 No. 2 (7:14)
  12. Ballade No. 4 in F minor, Op. 52 (11:11)
  13. Etude in A flat major, Op. 25 No. 1 (2:41)
  14. Karol Szymanowski:

  15. I. Four Polish Dances, op. 47 – Krakowiak (1:13)



Throughout the recital Fiderkiewicz maintains a lovely tonal sheen, a fine rhythmic clarity, while al­ways differentiating well between the opposing characters of Eusebius and Florestan. This is Romantically-inclined playing. Recorded in excellent sound, Fiderkiewicz is the type of artist who proves that one’s interpre­tations do not have to be eccentric to be great; rather, she takes the route of eloquence, of subtlety, of a healthy personal connection to and reflection of this music. And it pays off in spades. These are performances to be lived with and cherished.

” —Scott Noriega

Schumann’s example [of a Humoreske ] is a major work by any account. Fiderkiewicz gives an excellent performance of this work, which, because of its fragmentary and cyclic nature, means it can become a bit difficult for the listener to follow. Her playing tends to the wistful rather than cheery. A good investment for all piano music enthusiasts.

” —John France